Learning through experience:)

For the IB diploma orientation we went to Borderland in Kithulgala. The main idea behind the trip was to give us an understanding of the IB program, and we did that through experiential learning. The trip was action packed and we were constantly challenged to go beyond our comfort zones. This in a way depicted what IB was like,its non stop and the program constantly challenges you.

White water rafting was a new experience. I was on the raft with a group of people I don’t usually hang out with, however i had to trust them in order to make a successful journey down the river. It really made me open up to others and also be more trusting, i formed a good bond with people I never thought I’d have anything in common with. I carry forward the idea of being more open-minded and accepting to others  furthermore that working collaboratively with others is a tool for achievements.   I explored the aspect of being principled on this trip. I needed to be focused, responsible, and willing to listen to make it down the river safely. It’s a great comparison to IB. The only way to excel and achieve success in IB is to be responsible for your work. You need to derive things by yourself; therefore,you are in control(responsible) for your work. Furthermore you need to be honest(academic honesty) in all your work.

IB  helps develop you for the future and gives you the necessary tools to achieve later on in life. The main aspect that Borderland instilled in me was being a risk taker.  In my second month at OSC I’ve already had to use that skill’ therefore I am soo glad that I got to build on it  during orientation.  I’m deathly afraid of leeches and snakes and borderland seemed to host them in swarms, I was extremely reluctant to go on hikes due to it. I had no choice and decided not to be afraid of things I can’t control. I came to the realization that in order to be confident and balanced, I need to take a risk.

When we were taken on our hike to the canyons. we were advised to respect the villagers and not todisturb, harm or disrespect them in anyway. we were using their village for our pleasuere and we were obstructing their way of life. they didnt fuss about it and it made me respect them even more. in order for this balance of goodwill between the villagers and us to continue it was vital that we controlled our actions and did not offend them. it was a good understanding for me to have.  i realised that its important for me to be more considerate of others and to realise the effects than the simplest of actions can have. i learned the magnitude of “ethical consequences of our action”.

most of all the orientation taught us to have fun and faith in ourselves. it was a greaaat experience that improved our understanding of the world and of each other. it felt good knowing that we had each other in the IB journey:D

Leave a comment