Hope, Love, Believe :)

Cancer hospital is a service that is extremely close to my heart. My first visit was met with an emotional challenge. it made me think of this global issue in a totally different way. I knew about cancer, that it was around us but the implications, challenges and the emotions behind this disease truly affected me after the first trip.

My visits to the Cancer hospital increased my awareness of the situation in Sri Lanka and around the world.  I was more vocal about the cancer situation in Sri Lanka and have raised money to give the hospital through our service group.  I have involved couple of my friends from my previous school in this service, by involving others I have succeeded in spreading the message to other children. This was an eye opener for it truly dawned on to me the difference that “I” can make, the happiness and relief that one person can bring. there are definite areas of growth that I need to work on. The attitude and energy you bring to the hospital must be different to what you bring when hanging with friends. Some times I let the tiredness and weariness of the day take over my attitude at the hospital. this doesn’t happen often, yet I feel guilty when I do let it happen. These kids have more to be annoyed and tired yet their smiles just light up the room when we come. So I don’t think its fair when I let my annoyance and tiredness take over when they have more to be upset about. This was a great learning experience for me, a lesson I will carry on with me through out my life. Its a simple one but that’s what is important in life I guess. No matter how tough life gets some one has it worse and its in our nature to help those who do 😀

I do not like going on swings. It is a small peeve of mine and I havent gone on a swing in years. The child that I was playing with loved swings and wanted to go on it with me. I had to let go of my fear and phobia in order to make him happy. when I saw the intense smile and heard the non stop giggles it felt good. I was willing to face my fear in order to make that boy happy. it was on of my most proud moments 😀

Leave a comment