Play a litle song for me :D

One of my main CAS goals for creativity was to continue my organ playing. however I was so pressed for time that I didn’t quite get down to it like I would have liked. thanks to better time management I was able to get down to some serious organ playing this month and it felt really good to be able to move my hand over the keys 🙂

I have played the organ since I was 8 years old and it was a big part of me. yet with my studies and sports I havent been able to fully spend a lot of time playing the organ. this brought upon a challenge for me. it was to learn to play the organ in the same way I played it before. it was not an easy task yet I was determined to overcome this slight slump.

to be a better organist I need to practice more. show commitment to the learning of this instrument. three lessons in and was already getting annoyed. I wanted so badly to be good as I was once before and I was only focused on this goal, yet like all good things it didn’t come fast. my fingers werent skimming the keyboards as smoothly as I would have liked and my timing was off, but through constant practice and perseverance I managed to get back to my old self again 😀 I guess this is a perfect example of the learning outcome. by showing perseverance and dedication anything can be achieved 🙂

2012. 11. 10

Today I worked on one of my favorite songs. I played Beethoven’s Ode to Joy 🙂

it was a hard song and posed many challenges for me. firstly the chords were more intricate than those I have played before. therefore I needed to first practice the chords separately for an hour before I played it with the notes. the timing was quite hard as well and I almost gave up when I couldn’t nail that. however my perseverance to the cause helped me get over that hurdle. My planned initiative for this week was to perfect the song and play it for my parents and aunts. (NEEDED TO GET IT PERFECT) my performance went quite well and didn’t embarrass my self . (RELIEF)

with the Beethoven song conquered mt challenge for next week is to try a modern song. by setting this goal I am undertaking new challenges and increasing my area for growth. 🙂 hope it goes well!!

Leave a comment